Morgan Makes

My name is Morgan, and I make things. A lot of things. Some of my biggest skills are webdev, sewing, and singing, but I also enjoy writing, acting, knitting, drawing/painting, and way too many things to list. This page is a place to find links for everything that I do, and will only be added to over time. I hope to eventually add a webdev and gamedev portfolio, and perhaps an art portfolio.

I have a learning disability that makes me a bit slow at processing outside information (including dyslexia, hence the font on this page), but growing up with this has led to developing highly efficient processing on the inside, as a way of keeping up. I'm very good at math and problem solving. This is probably why I love programming so much--most of the processing can happen inside of my head.

Webdev and Gamedev

I'm especially proficient in JavaScript (including node.js and React), but I have experience in Java and C# (and have played around with Python, Julia, PHP, SQL and C++) and can learn very quickly. The languages that I didn't learn a lot of weren't because they were too hard, only because I didn't have any projects I wanted to do with them. If given a project and a language I don't know that I have to do it with, I'll simply learn that language.

You can support my web and game development on my dev Patreon, but I don't guarantee I'll post there often. A good place to find things I've finished is itch.io, and when I'm working on something I often post about it on Mastodon. My primary issue with webdev and gamedev is motivation: if I'm not getting paid to finish a project and I don't have a bunch of other people excited about it, I'm likely to get excited about something else before finishing it.

A note on this page: I made this website very minimalist because I prefer it that way, and it often makes the website more accessible. I'm not limited to simple colors and singular fonts. If you'll look at the CSS for this page, you'll note that I actually did put work into it, because even though I want it to look minimalist, I wanted to perfect it for every screen. I can adjust the way I design websites for different purposes. This website serves my purpose.

Visual Art

I've been traditionally drawing and painting since I was little. Bob Ross was my major inspiration that got me into painting, and I used acrylics because I was poor. I still occasionally do acrylic painting, but I'm more likely to do digital art since I got a computer with which I can draw directly on the screen. I occasionally post my art on Mastodon, but since I work on it so little, I tend to save it for my general Patreon.

Sewing

I've been sewing for about 4 years on and off, but most of what I've learned has been in the last 6 months or so. So far swimsuits are my favorite thing to sew. My experience has been limited by access to materials, but most of what I've sewn so far I've also posted about on Mastodon or Patreon. I've sewn several garments for myself, a skirt for a friend, and a couple of garments for my soon-to-be-born nephew.

Knitting and crochet

I've always been pretty good at knitting freestyle and coming up with patterns etc, but I'm limited in how much knitting I can do because of my arthritis. It is something I'd like to get back to, though. Crocheting is something that I know how to do, and I very much enjoy the boundless creativity it offers, but it hurts my wrists too much for me to do it with any degree of regularity.

I did at one point commit to putting knitting patterns on my Patreon, but it proved to be too much for me to do monthly. At some point I may put together a zine of simple knitting patterns.

I've been writing songs for as long as I can remember, and I've been publishing them on YouTube since I was 17 (so about 5 years).

This page is not done! I may be editing the document over the course of days or weeks.